*** Take the Power Bill Challenge today – you have nothing to lose… but money to gain! - Click here ***

Contact Energy

  • Plans
  • Information
  • News
  • Reviews
  • Map
Plans not found
Contact Energy
6.7

total

  • Overall Satisfaction 7.0

  • Value for Money 7.2

  • Customer Service 6.0

Average from 5 reviews

We're one of New Zealand's largest listed companies and work hard to put our energy into what really matters - keeping the lights burning, the hot water flowing and the wifi working for over half a million homes and businesses across New Zealand. Compare Contact’s prices and deals at Power Compare.

 

** NOTE: The above information has been provided by the «Contact Energy» or reproduced from their website **

*** last updated at 2019-01-11 13:40:20 ***

Sep 6, 2019

Cheapest power company NZ

With power prices frequently changing, how to be sure who is the cheapest power company in New Zealand?
Finding the cheapest electricity provider can feel a lot like searching for a needle in a haystack. For a second you think you know what company offers the best energy deal, the next moment they have gone.

Sep 5, 2019

Contact Energy Promo Code

The latest offer from Contact offers up to $25 off the standard monthly cost of broadband when you bundle with energy on the Broadband Bundle plan. Get unlimited broadband from $64.99/mth with no fixed term and no break fees. Get the deal!

Jun 10, 2019

Contact Energy Remove Prompt Payment Discounts and Simplify Customer Plans

Contact Energy recently removed their prompt payment discounts and simplified their plans to give customers a fairer deal.  Learn more and compare plans with Power Compare

Apr 20, 2018

Save on Fuel with Contact Energy

Contact offers new AA Smartfuel rewards of up to 50c per litre for its customers.

Feb 1, 2018

Power Companies NZ - Compare different NZ electricity providers

Ever wondered where your power comes from in NZ?  Which NZ power companies generate the electricity that we use... find out in this Power Compare news piece

Contact Energy
6.7

total

  • Overall Satisfaction 7.0

  • Value for Money 7.2

  • Customer Service 6.0

Average from 5 reviews

Kevin Tidmarsh2019-09-05 23:50:28

5.3
Overall Satisfaction
7
Value for Money
7
Customer Service
2

The customer service people are amazingly friendly and helpful people (once you get through to one.) : almost always make your day.

Pros:

The management of the accounts has been efficient.

Cons:

This was the one and only company from which I used to get prompt customer service. Of recent times that's changed. It's gone the way of all big corporations and is now the worst I've ever had any dealings with. My last two calls took 117 minutes and 127 minutes to be answered. When I chose the call-back option, no one ever called back. I suggest that the CEO of this company needs to go. I say that because he's manifestly cut staff to the bone and cares nothing for those that need prompt information from a staff member. They say customer satisfaction is one of their important goals. Instead it's fast becoming the worst and most hypocritical company in the country. The CEO may think he's building up his profile and track record by wholesale staff cutting and increasing the company's bottom line but isn't it counter productive when you're driving customers away in droves by your selfishness and disrespect for those that make you filthy rich?

Maria Tuai2019-07-06 17:29:02

2.7
Overall Satisfaction
2
Value for Money
3
Customer Service
3

They charged management fee $21.74, over the counter fee, $1.13, crdit card processsing fee $1.65, paper bill fee$ 0.96

Cons:

They send you threatening letters to pay before checking you have actually paid. I paid about $800 last month to cover bill of $715 and received another threatening letter to pay. They dont check before sending their letters!

Lana2019-02-21 12:56:16

8.7
Overall Satisfaction
9
Value for Money
9
Customer Service
8

I'm happy overall

Eric2019-02-21 12:38:13

10.0
Overall Satisfaction
10
Value for Money
10
Customer Service
10

When i joined a received a very nice joining credit

Pros:

very good rates, helpful staff on the phone

Gavin2017-12-05 15:10:31

7.0
Overall Satisfaction
7
Value for Money
7
Customer Service
7

Just what I need from my Electric Company. Only have electric with them and no issues. Bills are accurate and the only time I have contacted them they were reasonable response times. Solid but unspectacular.

Pros:

Prompt Payment Discount of 22% is great and AA Smart Fuel points are a good bonus

Cons:

Costs a bit higher per kWh than some but balanced by prompt payment

Contact Energy
6.7

total

  • Overall Satisfaction 7.0

  • Value for Money 7.2

  • Customer Service 6.0

Average from 5 reviews