*** Take the Power Bill Challenge today – you have nothing to lose… but money to gain! - Click here ***

Contact Energy

  • Plans
  • Information
  • News
  • Reviews
  • Map
  • electricity
  • gas
  • LPG
  • internet

services
  • Credit card
  • Bank transfer
  • Cash
  • Pre Payment
  • Smart Meter
features

Get $30 off the standard monthly cost of broadband* with Broadband + Electricity + Gas Bundle!

Bundle Broadband + Electricity and you’ll get $30 off the standard monthly cost of broadband. That’s just $59.99/mth (incl. GST) for Fast Fibre, VDSL and ADSL connections. - Unfixed, unlimited broadband - Free modem and shipping; - One handy bill.

Terms and Conditions apply. Please read them carefully.

Get $30 off the standard monthly cost of broadband* with Broadband + Electr...

  • electricity
  • gas
  • LPG
  • internet

services
  • Credit card
  • Bank transfer
  • Cash
  • Pre Payment
  • Smart Meter
features

Get $25 off the standard monthly cost of broadband* with Electricity+Broadband Bundle!

Bundle Broadband + Electricity and you’ll get $25 off the standard monthly cost of broadband. That’s just $64.99/mth (incl. GST) for Fast Fibre, VDSL and ADSL connections. - Unfixed, unlimited broadband - Free modem and shipping; - One handy bill.

Terms and Conditions apply. Please read them carefully.

Get $25 off the standard monthly cost of broadband* with Electricity+Broadb...

  • electricity
  • gas
  • LPG
  • internet

services
  • Credit card
  • Bank transfer
  • Cash
  • Pre Payment
  • Smart Meter
features

No fixed term and no break fees!

Get back to basics with this simple, hassle-free plan. No rewards or other added discounts to factor in, just simple, transparent pricing. Plus, you’ll have the flexibility of no fixed term and no break fees.

Terms and Conditions apply. Please read them carefully.

No fixed term and no break fees!

  • electricity
  • gas
  • LPG
  • internet

services
  • Credit card
  • Bank transfer
  • Cash
  • Pre Payment
Up to 2%DiscountUp to $150joining bonus
  • Smart Meter
features

Get $150 off your first bill

Enjoy $150 off your first bill when you sign up to our Everyday Bonus Fixed plan. Plus, you’ll get a 2% energy discount every month and the certainty of fixed energy rates until 31 October 2021.

Terms and Conditions apply. Please read them carefully.

Get $150 off your first bill

  • electricity
  • gas
  • LPG
  • internet

services
  • Credit card
  • Bank transfer
  • Cash
  • Pre Payment
  • Loyalty Program
  • Smart Meter
features

Get Locked rates until 31 October 2021 and 30c/litre off fuel once every month*

Enjoy cheaper fills at the pump with Fuel Rewards Plus. You’ll get 30 cents off per litre of fuel once every month* with AA Smartfuel and the certainty of fixed energy rates until 31 October 2021.

Terms and Conditions apply. Please read them carefully.

Get Locked rates until 31 October 2021 and 30c/litre off fuel once every mo...

Contact Energy
5.5

total

  • Overall Satisfaction 5.3

  • Value for Money 6.1

  • Customer Service 5.0

Average from 11 reviews

We're one of New Zealand's largest listed companies and work hard to put our energy into what really matters - keeping the lights burning, the hot water flowing and the wifi working for over half a million homes and businesses across New Zealand. Compare Contact’s prices and deals at Power Compare.

 

** NOTE: The above information has been provided by the «Contact Energy» or reproduced from their website **

*** last updated at 2019-01-11 13:40:20 ***

Sep 6, 2019

Cheapest power company NZ

With power prices frequently changing, how to be sure who is the cheapest power company in New Zealand?
Finding the cheapest electricity provider can feel a lot like searching for a needle in a haystack. For a second you think you know what company offers the best energy deal, the next moment they have gone.

Sep 5, 2019

Contact Energy Promo Code

The latest offer from Contact offers up to $25 off the standard monthly cost of broadband when you bundle with energy on the Broadband Bundle plan. Get unlimited broadband from $64.99/mth with no fixed term and no break fees. Get the deal!

Jun 10, 2019

Contact Energy Remove Prompt Payment Discounts and Simplify Customer Plans

Contact Energy recently removed their prompt payment discounts and simplified their plans to give customers a fairer deal.  Learn more and compare plans with Power Compare

Apr 20, 2018

Save on Fuel with Contact Energy

Contact offers new AA Smartfuel rewards of up to 50c per litre for its customers.

Feb 1, 2018

Power Companies NZ - Compare different NZ electricity providers

Ever wondered where your power comes from in NZ?  Which NZ power companies generate the electricity that we use... find out in this Power Compare news piece

Contact Energy
5.5

total

  • Overall Satisfaction 5.3

  • Value for Money 6.1

  • Customer Service 5.0

Average from 11 reviews

Muhammad Rohail Khan Kundi2020-02-10 16:45:56

1.0
Overall Satisfaction
1
Value for Money
1
Customer Service
1

My Account number with contact energy is 501226863. I just want to warn customers for tricky and ambiguous fixed term contract of contact energy. Their agent told me that the fixed term contract is for 12 months. I also received a welcome letter which "never mentioned" the length of the contract or the ending period of my fixed term contract.It only had the following words written in it. "Thanks for choosing our Saver Plus 200 Plan. Being able to fix the price you pay for your energy is important so we hope you enjoy having this peace of mind. Your pricing will not increase until 31 March 2021, subject to the exclusions set out in the Saver Plus 200 Plan special terms" Now where on earth is there written that my fixed term contract is for 15 months??? It only mentions that the prices will remain same till March 31,2021.Their fraudulent agent also told me that their contract is for 1 year(just like all other power and telecom companies) .I got rid of them just 1 month before March 31 and now they are charging me early termination fee! This is soo tricky and fraudulent. Avoid using this tricky and fraudulent company.Their rates are also as tricky as the company itself

Pros:

None.

Cons:

Tricking customers. Telling them ambiguous and tricky information. Poor customer service who never listens to you. Bad rates.Also tricky.They will show you tricky information so that you might think they have cheaper rates...Dont be fooled..Dont use contact energy ever again for tricking customers

Kevin Tidmarsh2019-09-05 23:50:28

5.3
Overall Satisfaction
7
Value for Money
7
Customer Service
2

The customer service people are amazingly friendly and helpful people (once you get through to one.) : almost always make your day.

Pros:

The management of the accounts has been efficient.

Cons:

This was the one and only company from which I used to get prompt customer service. Of recent times that's changed. It's gone the way of all big corporations and is now the worst I've ever had any dealings with. My last two calls took 117 minutes and 127 minutes to be answered. When I chose the call-back option, no one ever called back. I suggest that the CEO of this company needs to go. I say that because he's manifestly cut staff to the bone and cares nothing for those that need prompt information from a staff member. They say customer satisfaction is one of their important goals. Instead it's fast becoming the worst and most hypocritical company in the country. The CEO may think he's building up his profile and track record by wholesale staff cutting and increasing the company's bottom line but isn't it counter productive when you're driving customers away in droves by your selfishness and disrespect for those that make you filthy rich?

Maria Tuai2019-07-06 17:29:02

2.7
Overall Satisfaction
2
Value for Money
3
Customer Service
3

They charged management fee $21.74, over the counter fee, $1.13, crdit card processsing fee $1.65, paper bill fee$ 0.96

Cons:

They send you threatening letters to pay before checking you have actually paid. I paid about $800 last month to cover bill of $715 and received another threatening letter to pay. They dont check before sending their letters!

Lana2019-02-21 12:56:16

8.7
Overall Satisfaction
9
Value for Money
9
Customer Service
8

I'm happy overall

Eric2019-02-21 12:38:13

10.0
Overall Satisfaction
10
Value for Money
10
Customer Service
10

When i joined a received a very nice joining credit

Pros:

very good rates, helpful staff on the phone

Contact Energy
5.5

total

  • Overall Satisfaction 5.3

  • Value for Money 6.1

  • Customer Service 5.0

Average from 11 reviews