*** Take the Power Bill Challenge today – you have nothing to lose… but money to gain! - Click here ***

Genesis Energy

  • Plans
  • Information
  • News
  • Reviews
  • Map
  • electricity
  • gas
  • LPG

services
  • Credit card
  • Bank transfer
  • Cash
Up to 11%DiscountUp to $150Credit
  • Loyalty Program
  • Smart Meter
features

Get up to $150 one-off credit plus fixed pricing for 12 months!

Switch your electricity and/or gas services to Genesis on a 12-month fixed term and get up to $150 one-off credit plus up to 11% discount and great rewards! This offer is not available everywhere, please check T&C's.

Terms and Conditions apply. Please read them carefully.

Get up to $150 one-off credit plus fixed pricing for 12 months!

  • electricity
  • gas
  • LPG

services
  • Credit card
  • Bank transfer
  • Cash
Up to 8%Discount
  • Loyalty Program
  • Smart Meter
features

Get up to 8% monthly discount and great rewards on an open-term contract!

Switch one or two services to Genesis on an open term contract and get up to 8% monthly discount and great rewards!

Terms and Conditions apply. Please read them carefully.

Get up to 8% monthly discount and great rewards on an open-term contract!

  • electricity
  • gas
  • LPG

services
  • Credit card
  • Bank transfer
Up to 5%Dual Fuel Discount
  • Loyalty Program
  • Smart Meter
features

Genesis' lowest rates! 

Get Genesis' lowest rates fixed for 12 months plus an additional 5% dual fuel discount on a 12-month contract.

Terms and Conditions apply. Please read them carefully.

Genesis' lowest rates! 

Genesis Energy
5.5

total

  • Overall Satisfaction 5.0

  • Value for Money 5.3

  • Customer Service 6.3

Average from 4 reviews

Genesis Energy is a diversified energy company.

We sell electricity, natural gas and LPG through our retail brands. We generate electricity, and trade electricity and natural gas, through our Generation business. We also have a 46% interest in the Kupe Joint Venture which owns the Kupe oil and gas field.

** NOTE: The above information has been provided by the «Genesis Energy» or reproduced from their website **

*** last updated at 2020-07-27 14:01:22 ***

Sep 6, 2019

Cheapest power company NZ

With power prices frequently changing, how to be sure who is the cheapest power company in New Zealand?
Finding the cheapest electricity provider can feel a lot like searching for a needle in a haystack. For a second you think you know what company offers the best energy deal, the next moment they have gone.

Jun 24, 2019

Genesis launch virtual power plant in South Wairarapa

Genesis have launched a ‘virtual power plant’ in South Wairarapa that allows users to generate, store, share and sell energy. Is this the future of power in NZ?

Jun 21, 2019

A fair deal on power for New Zealanders?

What is the final word on the government’s Electricity Price Review? The final report have been submitted but many New Zealanders are heading into a cold winter paying more than they should for power. How can we level the field for a fairer power marketplace? Using your consumer power to make an informed choice about which provider you choose can help you take control. 

Sep 9, 2018

SPOTLIGHT: Genesis Energy

Check out our latest Spotlight Power Company Genesis Energy – New Zealand’s largest electricity and gas retailer.

Feb 1, 2018

Power Companies NZ - Compare different NZ electricity providers

Ever wondered where your power comes from in NZ?  Which NZ power companies generate the electricity that we use... find out in this Power Compare news piece

Genesis Energy
5.5

total

  • Overall Satisfaction 5.0

  • Value for Money 5.3

  • Customer Service 6.3

Average from 4 reviews

Kevin2020-07-17 21:42:23

1.0
Overall Satisfaction
1
Value for Money
1
Customer Service
1

Not helpful and rude. Wait times are horrible only to get hung up on when they finally answer and then no one rings you back. Switch was absolutely shit and somehow my power got turned off While being switched over and then they charged me a reconnection fee when it was their fault? When it finally came over my first bill was somehow a estimate even though we have a smart meter.

Pros:

Not at all

Cons:

Not helpful at all customer services. Hopeless high rate and rude clause. No recommend.

Paul2020-03-11 19:40:58

6.0
Overall Satisfaction
5
Value for Money
4
Customer Service
9

Some major disconnect between their new customer sign up team and their billing department. Only after I joined them did they tell me that I was provided wrong information and that the "deal" I was offered wasnt available for my home because I had solar panels.

Pros:

After some initial issues with the new customer sign up team quoting me a plan which I was later told wasnt valid for my property the customer service team showed great empathy and explained that they had totally got things wrong. They offered me compensation as a way of saying sorry.

Cons:

Their new customer sign up team were not well informed of what pricing plans are available for customers with home generation, solar panels.

Karla2018-07-28 09:29:03

8.0
Overall Satisfaction
8
Value for Money
8
Customer Service
8

I chose this provider because I was with them previously and I liked the deal of $150 credit as start up towards new house. Happy about this

Pros:

Immediate fast forward email and set up online

Cons:

Have not had any faults

Gavin2017-12-05 15:12:45

7.0
Overall Satisfaction
6
Value for Money
8
Customer Service
7

Use for my Mains Gas only - good price but only after I queried how and what I was paying.

Pros:

They supply mains gas as a standalone so no need to bundle

Cons:

They didn't offer me best value plan - needed me to chase and ask for it... but they offered a quick response and no issues contacting when I needed to however.

Genesis Energy
5.5

total

  • Overall Satisfaction 5.0

  • Value for Money 5.3

  • Customer Service 6.3

Average from 4 reviews